History of Regatta

The early Regattas and village sports/fetes were run from the outer harbour with land based activities held in a number of venues around the village, the most popular being the fields behind the St Tudwals hotel/Inn.

The sailing programme eventually moved around the headland following the construction of South Caernarvonshire Yacht Club back in 1925 and the main sailing day still takes place there on the second Saturday in August each year.

Our Timeline


Inaugural Abersoch Regatta: 2 sailing races Rowing, Sculling, donkey & foot races Thousands in attendance


Abersoch Regatta moves its sailing programme to SCYC


Imaginative land based events and prizes! Mens cigarette race – fastest smoker wins a set of ashtrays Flat running race – 1st prize pair of socks, 2nd prize set of razors


Royal success Bluebottle (a Dragon racing class yacht ) wins the St Tudwal’s cup It’s owners were a certain Queen Elizabeth II and the Duke of Edinburgh


Abersoch Regatta 100 yr anniversary celebrations Brass bands, carnival Queen and her flotilla, RNLI Lifeboats & Rescue helicopter display


Big celebrations all round:
138th Abersoch Regatta
100th year of SCYC
200th year of RNLI

The 2024 Committee

Dr Ian Williams


Jeremy Collins

Vice Commodore

Belinda Evans


Martin Lewthwaite


Malcolm Blackburn

Principal Race Officer

General Committee Members

William Williams, Jane Williams, Mary Barrat, Gill Blease, Phill Brown, Paul Proctor, Tomos Jones

General Committee Members

Linda Jones, Elgan Jones, T.Arthur Jones, Neil McGill, John Brynmor-Hughes, Sion Lloyd-jones, Barrie McGill

General Committee Members

Dafydd Lloyd-Jones, David Pilling, Eifiona Wood, Richard Smith, Roy Taylor, Lynne Collins

Entry Form